Ma rch 2 No Mas Bebes: Forced Sterilization Webinar

Please join the Center for Genetics and Society on Wednesday, March 2 (11am PT / 2pm ET / 19:00 GMT) for the next in the Talking Biopolitics series of live online conversations with cutting-edge thinkers about the social meanings of human biotechnologies.

Renee Tajima-Peña and Virginia Espino, director and producer of the documentary No Más Bebés, will be talking with Alexandra Minna Stern about their film, their research and California’s sterilization history.

About the Film:
They came to have their babies. They went home sterilized. The story of immigrant mothers who sued county doctors, the state, and the U.S. government after they were pressured into sterilizations while giving birth at the Los Angeles County-USC Medical Center during the 1960s and 70s. Led by an intrepid, 26-year-old Chicana lawyer and armed with hospital records secretly gathered by a whistle-blowing young doctor, the mothers faced public exposure and stood up to powerful institutions in the name of justice.

This online event is free and open to the public, but registration is required!

Feel free to forward this invitation to your friends and colleagues, and join the Twitter discussion at#TalkingBiopolitics.
 

Advertisements