Gene Editing and Cancer Jan 26 Free Webinar

During Obama’s State of the Union, he announced a new initiative to “cure cancer.” Those this language is problematic given the multiple causes of cause and the range of heterogeneity in cancers, the move is prompted by emerging technologies that seek to edit or correct our malfunctioning genes. If you want to stay up to date on the  2015 Breakthrough of the Year- CRSPR, join the live free webinar Tuesday, January 26 (11am PT / 2pm ET / 18:00 GMT)

This is part of the  Talking Biopolitics series of live online conversations with cutting-edge thinkers about the social meanings of human biotechnologies.

Paul Knoepfler will talk with Nathaniel Comfort – and with you – about his book, GMO Sapiens: The Life-Changing Science of Designer Babies.

GMO Sapiens explores in clear and accessible language the suite of genetic engineering technologies that may make possible what previously was considered science fiction: designing future generations of human beings. A stem and cancer cell researcher, Knoepfler raises broader social questions about human variation, the ethical complexities of pursuing genetic “perfection,” and contemporary policies.

Alexandra Minna Stern, professor of American Culture at the University of Michigan and author of Telling Genes and Eugenic Nation, notes that “GMO Sapiens could not be more timely. New technologies like CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing have great clinical potential, but thay also bring us closer to a world in which future children can be pre-conceptively manipulated and customized to possess certain traits.”

This online event is free and open to the public, but registration is required!

Feel free to forward this invitation to your friends and colleagues, and join the Twitter discussion at #TalkingBiopolitics.

Advertisements